Pick your region
Dolly Parton’s first rock album to feature Stevie Nicks, a Beatles reunion, Elton John and more

Dolly Parton’s first rock album to feature Stevie Nicks, a Beatles reunion, Elton John and more

The album 'Rockstar' is made up on nine original songs and 30 covers!

Dolly Parton is “so excited” to be putting out her long-promised rock album and with the list of features it has, we can see why!

The country star, 77, vowed to make a rocky record after she was last year inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, and has now released a full track listing for the album, scheduled to come out on 17 November (see the full tracklist at the bottom of this article). 

The 30-song track list showed artists including Sir Paul McCartney and Ringo Starr had joined her on the album for a cover of The Beatles’ ‘Let It Be’.

Brandi Carlile and Pink will join the singer for a rendition of The Rolling Stones’ ‘(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction’, while Emmylou Harris and Sheryl Crow will be her guests on a song most popularised by Linda Ronstadt, ‘You’re no Good’.

Other collaborators on the album include Judas Priest’s Rob Halford, Lizzo and Sasha Flute, Stevie Nicks, Chris Stapleton, Simon Le Bon, John Fogerty, Melissa Etheridge, Michael McDonald, Richie Sambora, Ronnie McDowell, the Jordanaires and Kid Rock.

In a statement alongside the tracklist, Dolly said: “I’m so excited to finally present my first Rock and Roll album ‘Rockstar’.

“I am very honoured and privileged to have worked with some of the greatest iconic singers and musicians of all time and to be able to sing all the iconic songs throughout the album was a joy beyond measure.

“I hope everybody enjoys the album as much as I’ve enjoyed putting it together!”

The first single from the album, ‘World on Fire’ will be released on Friday night (NZT), following Parton’s live premiere of the tune at the end of the Academy of Country Music Awards, which she is co-hosting with Garth Brooks.

'Rockstar' Tracklist:

  1. 'Rockstar' (special guest Richie Sambora)
  2. 'World on Fire'
  3. 'Every Breath You Take' (feat. Sting)
  4. 'Open Arms' (feat. Steve Perry)
  5. 'Magic Man' (feat. Ann Wilson with special guest Howard Leese)
  6. 'Long As I Can See The Light' (feat. John Fogerty)
  7. 'Either Or' (feat. Kid Rock)
  8. 'I Want You Back' (feat. Steven Tyler with special guest Warren Haynes)
  9. 'What Has Rock And Roll Ever Done For You' (feat. Stevie Nicks with special guest Waddy Wachtel)
  10. 'Purple Rain'
  11. 'Baby, I Love Your Way' (feat. Peter Frampton)
  12. 'I Hate Myself For Loving You' (feat. Joan Jett & The Blackhearts)
  13. 'Night Moves' (feat. Chris Stapleton)
  14. 'Wrecking Ball' (feat. Miley Cyrus)
  15. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction (feat. P!nk & Brandi Carlile)
  16. 'Keep On Loving You' (feat. Kevin Cronin)
  17. 'Heart Of Glass' (feat. Debbie Harry)
  18. 'Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me' (feat. Elton John)
  19. 'Tried To Rock And Roll Me' (feat. Melissa Etheridge)
  20. 'Stairway To Heaven' (feat. Lizzo & Sasha Flute)
  21. 'We Are The Champions'
  22. 'Bygones' (feat. Rob Halford with special guests Nikki Sixx & John 5)
  23. 'My Blue Tears' (feat. Simon Le Bon)
  24. 'What’s Up?' (feat. Linda Perry)
  25. 'You’re No Good' (feat. Emmylou Harris & Sheryl Crow)
  26. 'Heartbreaker' (feat. Pat Benatar & Neil Giraldo)
  27. 'Bittersweet' (feat. Michael McDonald)
  28. 'I Dreamed About Elvis' (feat. Ronnie McDowell with special guest The Jordanaires)
  29. 'Let It Be' (feat. Paul McCartney & Ringo Starr with special guests Peter Frampton & Mick Fleetwood)
  30. 'Free Bird' (feat. Ronnie Van Zant with special guests Gary Rossington, Artimus Pyle and The Artimus Pyle Band)