Summer City Gardens Magic

Wellington

Wellington’s Breeze is proud to support Gardens Magic this January.

The free concert series returns to fill your summer nights with the sounds of Aotearoa’s best and brightest.

This year we're celebrating 40 years of Summer City and 150 years of our beautiful Botanic Garden.

Be early to grab a good picnic spot, and, as the sun sets, see the gardens transform with a magical light display and art installation.

The events run from Tuesday 8 January to Sunday 27 January, so there’s plenty of time to catch a show.

All Event Dates:

  • Tuesday 8 January – ULTRASOUNZ
    Turn back the clock for Summer City’s 40th birthday – and get your ‘80s glam groove on!
  • Wednesday 9 January –Mundi
    Hypnotic rhythms and haunting melodies to dance you round the world.
  • Thursday 10 January – Anxiety Club
    Feel-good indie anthems of heartache and despair.
  • Friday 11 January – Hans Pucket
    Energetic eclectic guitar power-popsters. Support: Earth to Zena.
  • Saturday 12 January – Jane Siberry/Anthonie Tonnon
    Fantastic other-worldly musical storytellers – Canadian icon Jane Siberry and New Zealand’s Anthonie Tonnon.
  • Sunday 13 January – Summer Showcase 1
    A summer selection of top singers and songwriters – Helen Lomas, Peyton Morete, Liam Poole, Frances Leeds and more.
  • Monday 14 January – Rain day
  • Tuesday 15 January – Newtown Rocksteady
    Move yourself to Welly’s favourite rocksteady reggae ska heavy hitters.
  • Wednesday 16 January – Tāwhiri Funk
    Get down to the most funkadelic hip hop jazz soul sounds in town!
  • Thursday 17 January – Reb Fountain
    Mountain-strong, feather-soft songs to charm your boots off. Support: Bill Hickman.
  • Friday 18 January – Royal New Zealand Air Force Jazz Orchestra
    Jazz classics to celebrate 80+ years of making music. Swing dance the night away or sit and imbibe the vibe.
  • Saturday 19 January – “Lucky Dip”
    Roll up for a surprise magical mystery – all will be revealed on the night.
  • Sunday 20 January – Awerangi: Mana Wāhine
    Powerhouse vocals meets kapa haka, taonga pūoro and a nine-piece neo-soul band.
  • Monday 21 January – Rain day
  • Tuesday 22 January – Aotearoa All Stars
    Boogie down to classic 1970s–2000s funk, reggae and disco through to new te reo Māori music.
  • Wednesday 23 January – Summer Showcase II
    An ambient array of solos, duos and trios – A.U.R.A, CL-AUDIO, Kuki Koori and more.
  • Thursday 24 January – The Mean Bones
    A shamanic, jazz-damaged double trombone attack on deep voodoo grooves.
    Support: Uncle Silverback.
  • Friday 25 January – Orchestra Wellington Star Ensemble
    Stars from Orchestra Wellington play a sunny mix of modern and traditional classics.
  • Saturday 26 January – Summer Showcase III
    A global taster of solos, duos and trios – Matias Ceballos, CL-audio DUB, Sam Manzanza, Fernando Figueroa Trío Latino and more.
  • Sunday 27 January – Miho’s Jazz Orchestra
    Afro-Cuban flute meets J-pop and irresistibly uplifting dance-happy grooves.
  • Monday 28 January – Rain day

Check out all the Gardens Magic event details here.